Wednesday, September 13, 2006

Pass the salt, please

How "aliw" is the Aliw Awards, now on its 30th year? Here are the 2006 winners for theater. You be the judge.

Best Actress-Musical: Eula Valdez, "ZsaZsa Zaturnnah" (Tanghalang Pilipino)

Best Actor-Musical: Nonie Buencamino, "Palasyo ni Valentin" (PETA)

Best Musical: "Something to Crow About," music and lyrics by Ferdie Dimadura based on National Artist for Literature Alejandro Roces' short stories/libretto (NCCA) Best Director-Musical: Cecile Guidote Alvarez

Best Actor-Play: Mario O'Hara, "Ang Pokpok ng Ohio" (Tanghalang Pilipino)

Best Actress-Play: Irma Adlawan, "Ang Pokpok ng Ohio" (Tanghalang Pilipino)

Best Play: "The Godstealer/The Queen's Jewel" (Gantimpala Theater)

Best Director-Play: Tony Espejo

Lifetime Achievement Award: Tony Espejo, Gantimpala Theater

Manila Standard Today's Totel De Jesus reviews "Something to Crow About" here.

My reviews of "Something to Crow About" (as well as Dramatis Personae's "Shooting the Boys" and Dulaang UP's "Shadows of the Reef") here. "Palasyo ni Valentin" and "Ang Pokpok ng Ohio" (as well as Gantimpala's "Ibong Adarna") here. "The Godstealer/The Queen's Jewel" (as well as Tanghalang Pilipino's "Welcome to IntelStar/Geegee at Waterina") here. "ZsaZsa Zaturnnah" the musical play (as well as Dulaang UP's "Gabriela" and PETA's "Pinoy Wannabes") here and "Zaturnnah's" CD soundtrack here.

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Search this blog or the Web