Wednesday, January 16, 2008

Theater Herstory 101: PHILSTAGE Honors National Artist Daisy H. Avellana

The Philippine Legitimate Stage Artists Group, Inc. (PHILSTAGE), in cooperation with the Cultural Center of the Philippines and the National Commission for Culture and the Arts, invites theater enthusiasts and the general public to watch "Theater Herstory 101: A Tribute to National Artist for Theater Daisy Hontiveros Avellana" on January 23, 2008, 3:00 and 8 p.m., at the Tanghalang Aurelio Tolentino (CCP Little Theater).

The multi-media concert-informance brings to a close the CCP-led year-long tribute to Ms. Avellana, an actor, director and writer who elevated professional theater to a new level of excellence. Born on January 26, 1917, the honoree is married to another National Artist for Theater and Film–-Lamberto Avellana. Together, they founded the Barangay Theatre Guild in 1939 and paved the way for the popularization of theater and dramatic arts in the country, using stage, radio and television as their media. She is best known for her portrayal of Candida Marasigan in the theater and film versions of Nick Joaquin's "Portrait of the Artist as Filipino."

"Theater Herstory 101" features musical numbers from previous productions of PHILSTAGE member-companies, excerpts from Ms. Avellana's old plays, and testimonials on the honoree's life, works and influences to today's generation of theater practitioners. The tribute-show is topbiled by an all-female cast including Irma Adlawan, Menchu Lauchengco Yulo, Madeleine Nicolas, Tex Ordonez, Cathy Azanza, Catherine Bautista, Joanne Co, Naomi Villa, Elena Laniog, and Vinia Pamplona. Invited to give testimonials include such women theater pillars as Naty Crame Rogers, Baby Barredo, Celeste Legaspi, Maribel Legarda and Sandy Hontiveros.

Directed by Teresa Jamias from the script of Glen Mas, the production staff includes Elmar Beltran Ingles and Dennis Marasigan (executive producers), Jed Ave Uy (production manager), Jed Balsamo (musical director), Novy Bereber (choreographer) , Liza Magtoto (featured playwright), Ed Murillo (stage Manager), Eric Cruz (production designer), and Barbi Tantiongco (technical and lighting director).

The PHILSTAGE Board of Directors is composed of Tanghalang Pilipino's Dennis Marasigan, president; PETA's Melvin Lee, vice president; Ballet Philippines' Sandy Hontiveros, secretary; Repertory Philippines' Gigette Tolentino, treasurer; Actor Actors' Leonardo Lim, Ballet Manila's Susan Macuja, GANTIMPALA's Tony Espejo, OPM's Mitch Valdes (Organisasyon ng Pilipinong Mang-aawit), TRUMPETS' Alvin Dela Pena (TRUMPETS), and PHILSTAGE Executive Director Elmar Beltran Ingles.

Admission to the tribute-shows is FREE. For further enquiries and seat reservations, please contact PHILSTAGE at 722-1705 or email philstage@tri-

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Search this blog or the Web