Monday, July 27, 2009

Cinemalaya 2009--Smorgasbord of winners

Best Film, Full-length Feature
Last Supper No. 3, directed by Veronica Velasco and Jinky Laurel

Best Film, Short Feature
Bonsai, directed by Borgy Torre III

Best Director, Full-length
GB Sampedro, Astig

Best Director, Short
Dexter Cayanes, Musa

Special Jury Award, Full-length
Colorum, directed by Jon Stefan Ballesteros
Ang Panggagahasa Kay Fe, directed by Alvin Yapan

Special Jury Award, Short
Blogog, directed by Milo Tolentino

Special Mention
Engkwentro, directed by Pepe Diokno

Best Actor
Lou Veloso, Colorum

Best Actress
Ina Feleo, Sanglaan

Best Supporting Actress
Tessie Tomas, Sanglaan

Best Supporting Actor
Arnold Reyes, Astig

Best Screenplay, Full-Length
Vic Acedillo, Nerseri

Best Screenplay, Short
Mark Philipp Espina, Behind Closed Doors

Best Production Design
Benjamin Padero, Mangatyanan

Best Cinematography
Pao Orendain, 24K

Best Original Scoring, Full-Length
Dinig Sana Kita

Best Sound, Full-length

National Council for Children's TV Award
Dinig Sana Kita, directed by Mike Sandejas

NetPac Award
Baseco Bakal Boys, directed by Ralston Jover

Audience Choice Award, Full-length
Dinig Sana Kita

Audience Choice Award, Short
Tatang, directed by Nico Hernandez

Note: Nope, I didn't make it to the awards night. Floods and rain marooned me in Waterworld, er, Makati. Thanks to Ernest, though, I was getting a heads-up on the winners via text. Thanks, man! Congratulations to the winners! (Nearly everybody, as you can see.)


Niña said...

yay francis brew reyes! best original music score for dinig sana kita!

renz said...

cannot believe engkwentro came up dry. it shd have gotten sound, cinematography or direction AT LEAST. most daring of the festival ever. ang "safe" ng mga nanalo... no award for innovation.

MisterHeuge said...

My critic's eyebrow shot up when I found out that "Nerseri" won Best In Screenplay. A dubious choice considering the other, more worthy contenders.

Anonymous said...

hmmm... though it does happen, that picture, director and screenplay belong to different films, it seems the awards were spread out.

Alvin said...

Why does Engwentro's Special Mention citation comes across as something similar to a Certificate in Participation?

Anyhow, so glad that "Last Supper No. 3" won Best Film in a night full of upsets (I would imagine some were upset by the results).

gibbs cadiz said...

NINA, yep, i agree he should get the award. :)

RENZ, agree too. engkwentro deserved better than a WTF 'special mention'. :)

hey HEUGE, i thought 'nerseri' had as much a shot at the best screenplay thingie as panggagahasa or last supper. :)

ANONYMOUS, korek. :)

ALVIN, i've been with cinemalaya since year 1 and i think this is the awards edition with the most upset wins. :)

beektur said...

Kaya nga di ako nananalo sa mga award award eh. :)

mocccah said...

ah, vindication for engkwentro:

fyi, venice is more prestigious than astig's pusan, and dsk's toronto.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Search this blog or the Web