Tuesday, June 15, 2010

OPM invites new members, sets Board elections June 16

The Organisasyon ng Pilipinong Mang-aawit (OPM), the country’s biggest organization of professional singers and live performing artists, will be conducting its General Assembly and Board Elections on Wednesday, June 16, 2010, 8:00 p.m. at Annabel’s Café along Tomas Morato in Quezon City.

Mitch Valdes, current OPM president, is calling on professional singers and live performing music artists to register for membership and become eligible for election to the Board of Directors.

“As a 26-year old artists’ organization which started out of the unity of singers and music artists advocating social change during the EDSA Revolution of 1986, OPM is now considered a force to reckon with in the promotion and development of Philippine Music and advocacy for singers’ rights and welfare,” Valdes said.

OPM was conferred the 2007 Dangal ng Haraya Award for Promotion of Philippine Culture by the National Commission for Culture and the Arts. It is is the only artists’ organization in the entire Asia and the Pacific to be recognized by the New York-based United Nations Department of Public Information as an NGO-accredited organization.

A non-stock, non-profit corporation duly registered with the Securities and Exchange Commission, OPM advocates policies for the growth of the music industry; ensures legal support, assistance and professional enhancement for members; promotes patronage of local singers and original Filipino musical compositions; and works for recognition and protection of the Filipino music and singers in the international arena.

OPM’s current Board of Directors includes Mitch Valdes, president; Audie Gemora, vice president; Pnky Marquez, secretary-treasurer; and directors Vicky Salvador, Dyords Javier, Danny Javier and Bo Cerrudo. Past presidents Celeste Legaspi and Jim Paredes and Executive Director Elmar Beltran Ingles also serve as ex officio members..

Among OPM’s recent program initiatives are the “Kaya Natin Ito” Concert held at the SM Mall of Asia Concert Grounds featuring over 60 artists raising funds for the Typhoon Ondoy victims, an ongoing campaign for performers’ intellectual property rights, and the signing of a Memorandum of Understanding with the Bureau of Immigration and the Asosasyon ng Musikong Pilipino for Performers’ Equity Program.

It is also responsible for the formation of the only performers’ royalty collecting society in the country, the Performers Rights Society of the Philippines, which counts among its members professional singers, dancers, musicians, theater artists, film and television actors, directors and other performing artists.

Membership details and application forms may be accessed at the OPM website at http://opm.org.ph/membership.html. To become eligible for membership, an annual membership fee of P1,000 should be paid either personally at the OPM office, during the General Assembly on June 10, or through bank deposit.

For further details, please contact the OPM Secretariat at 7231845, 7217229 or 0916-7605447, or through e-mail opmsingers@gmail.com.

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Search this blog or the Web